Artist Voicings - Taylor Eigsti

Three voicing techniques from the beautiful solo piano introduction to Taylor Eigsti's tune "Midnight After Noon" from his 2010 Concord Records release, "Daylight at Midnight," are examined in this lesson: a dramatic voicing without a third, an ascending major chord line cliche and rich drop 2 voicings. Learn how he uses them, the theory that makes them work and strategies for incorporating these devices into your own playing.
Lesson Stats
Date added: 11/21/10
Duration: 19:47
Practice Sessions
Practice Session 1 - Play the Lesson Intro Transcription
Practice Session 2 - Major 7 Omit 3 Voicing
Practice Session 3 - Fifth Ascending Line Cliché
Practice Session 4 - Drop 2 Voicing
Practice Session 5 - Applying the Voicings to Tunes
Further Listening
Listen to Taylor Eigsti play the tune used in this lesson, "Midnight After Noon," on his 2010 Concord Jazz release, "Daylight At Midnight."
Stacks Image 17899